Thread: Hello from San Diego, California! Minimalism newbie here looking for guidance

Hello from San Diego, California! Minimalism newbie here looking for guidance

Hello everyone. My name is Sam. I am a passionate artist of many flavors, a zen practitioner, and a yogi. I am in the midst of an evolutionary process where I am deconstructing my ego - and this requires the relinquishment of excessive materialism, consumerism, and activities that clutter the mind. I have tried out some minimalist principles, such as slow, mindful eating, cutting out social media, extra time for personal reflection without any distractions of any sort, and taking time to simply be - with absolutely nothing distracting me from the present moment. This worked incredibly well temporarily and dramatically increased my sense of well-being and also led to feelings of empathy and compassion. I did this without guidance however, and I tried to make too many serious changes to my life all at once and in turn, I got overwhelmed. The absolute joy that came from even a taste of minimalism was enough to make me try it again, this time with guidance from someone highly experienced.

As someone that is in the midst of recovering from paranoid schizophrenia, I need serious changes to my life that will bring about less self-centeredness and more clarity of mind. I have experienced absolutely inhuman suffering because of this condition, and I refuse to let myself be taken by it. I truly believe minimalism will be an excellent addition to my current set of tactics I am using for overcoming the disorder, and I am willing to give this my all. I need help and guidance from the most experienced and compassionate minimalists out there.

Thank you,

Sam

Welcome, Sam. I'm afraid I can make no claim to being one of the most experienced minimalists by any stretch of the imagination, but it's good to "meet" you and I look forward to talking with you on the forums. What kind of art do you practice?

Hi, Sam!