Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Foreign language online teaching program?

Foreign language online teaching program?

I'm wanting to brush up on my German. I studied it in school and spent a summer working there when I was younger, and got pretty proficient with it. But I've gotten rusty. Mein Deutsch is ganz schlecht geworden!
    For awhile, all I heard about was Rosetta Stone. But I don't know much about any of those programs now. Any suggestions?

DUOLINGO!!!!!!!!!!
    It's free and it's wonderful. DH is doing German right now, and I am doing Swedish and reupping my Spanish.

You only hear about Rosetta Stone programs because they are relentlessly advertised.

Other peograms are fine, just as good.

Check with your local library. The library system where I live provides FREE on line and instructional videos/tapes, etc. I know there are a few different program options as well. Sehr gut!

What about visiting foreign sites, or things like Youtube and seeing if you can understand and pick up accents etc? Doesn't help with practice, but could help understanding structure if been a while.

Quote Originally Posted by Tybee View Post
    DUOLINGO!!!!!!!!!!
    It's free and it's wonderful. DH is doing German right now, and I am doing Swedish and reupping my Spanish.
    +1

You are so right, Tybee! It's great. I highly recommend it as well.
    "Do any human beings ever realize life while they live it--every, every minute?" Emily Webb, Our Town
    www.silententry.wordpress.com

Quote Originally Posted by frugal-one View Post
    Check with your local library. The library system where I live provides FREE on line and instructional videos/tapes, etc. I know there are a few different program options as well. Sehr gut!
    My library has Mango, which covers 60 languages.