Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Setting a Decluttering Goal in Units of Time Using Flylady's Timer Method - July 2017

Setting a Decluttering Goal in Units of Time Using Flylady's Timer Method - July 2017

Hi All,

I'm a teacher who is on a reduced schedule for about two months mid-December through mid-February and mid-June through mid-July. I also have a REALLY cluttered home. In the past, I've had some success with setting myself a goal of doing a certain number of hours of decluttering during my periods of reduced work. I set one overall goal (last winter, it was 40 hours), then chip away at it in smaller increments of time. Some days I aim for an hour; others for four hours (with breaks!). I basically use flylady's timer method described here, but with longer periods of time than 15 minutes:

http://www.flylady.net/d/getting-sta...ng-15-minutes/

It's also helped me a lot to keep track of progress towards my goal here, so here I am setting a new one: to complete 40 hours of decluttering in my house and 20 hours in my office at school by Monday, August 28 when my regular work schedule resumes.

I started today in my house. One hour completed!

I was thinking about this topic earlier today--funny you started this thread. I have about 2-3 weeks of downtime between work projects. My son is going to visit us the weekend of the 15/16th, and he's bringing the girlfriend he's really serious about. This will be her first visit here.

So I'm DETERMINED not to waste any time--I'm determined to catch up on all those household projects that have lain dormant. Decluttering the basement, re-painting the wood trim in the bedroom, fixing the pump in our backyard mini-pond, cleaning out kitchen cabinets. etc. I know that some people are "all in" people who will attack a task with a vengeance and will work all day on it, but I'm more of a "chip away" person who does better shifting gears periodically, but making small progress along the way.