Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hello from sunny, expensive California!

Hello from sunny, expensive California!

Hi everyone!
    My name is Colleen, and I'm the mama to an 11-year-old and a 9-month-old. We have downsized since Baby Boy came, moving from 975+ square feet to about 660 square feet, and I still have more to get rid of. We were going to move into a tiny house, but that blew up, metaphorically, in an epic fashion.

I'm a writer, and I've been blogging about slowing down and simplifying because I believe so many of us are too proud of how busy we are, and we're missing out on getting to do the things we love. I speak from experience, and it's so ingrained that every day I struggle to remind myself that it's more important to be present in my children's lives and to do what brings me joy (writing) than it is to cross things off my to-do list.

It's exciting to me to have found this forum since there aren't too many like-minded people that I come across in my daily life here in Silicon Valley. This is close to the top of the list of the most expensive places to live in the U.S., and so we're making an effort to live frugally so we can make ends meet.

I'm looking forward to learning, getting tips from those farther along this journey, and if I can help others, that would be especially awesome. Thanks!
    PS: Join me for a newsletter on simplifying to make time for what we love. Message me with "I'm in" to join.