Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

Thread: North Korea now saying that the US has declared war.....

Senior Member gimmethesimplelife's Avatar

North Korea now saying that the US has declared war.....

Color me very world weary today. Worked long hours the past few days and have a day offf today and went online to catch up on what's going on beyond the texts and voicemails I've gotten from friends and neighbors and activists in the 85006 and ran across an article on yahoo.com that really depresses me - to the effect that North Korea is now claiming that the US has declared war.

Thoughts? What I am afraid of now is that there is no real room for either "leader" to save face and that millions upon millions of innocent people may perish. Rob

It’s been a long time since I studied US History but I remember learning that although North Korea signed the armistice ending the hostilities of the Korean Conflict, they withdrew from the agreement several times, therefore, in essence the Korean Conflict (War) continues in the mind of North Korea. This is nothing new but it appears to be escalating.

North Korea claims a lot of things.

Quote Originally Posted by gimmethesimplelife View Post
    Color me very world weary today. Worked long hours the past few days and have a day offf today and went online to catch up on what's going on beyond the texts and voicemails I've gotten from friends and neighbors and activists in the 85006 and ran across an article on yahoo.com that really depresses me - to the effect that North Korea is now claiming that the US has declared war.

Thoughts? What I am afraid of now is that there is no real room for either "leader" to save face and that millions upon millions of innocent people may perish. Rob
    Given the long, long history of overheated rhetoric and violent incidents, what do you find so uniquely terrifying about the present situation?

I guess the armistice is off?

https://www.nytimes.com/2017/09/25/w...orea.html?_r=0