Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Moving craft hobby into selling

Moving craft hobby into selling

I got invited to a small church craft fair in december based on my booth at Maker Faire. I realized how much stuff I have from dolls to octopod toys to the kitchen things I used to make that have been stored, and even the dragons. Now I realize I may have to do things about sales tax and how to take money from people and all that. I am just dipping my toe in, not sure how much I want to make this a total side income. However I do want to follow all the rules. I have one of the cube things I got from a friend for my phone, and other than that I am a total newbie.

Do I need to sign up for a tax license or just pay taxes on what I collect? So far I have sold under $150 to friends so I haven't worried about it. Is there some type of income threshold that I need to pass or is it just a good idea for anyone who sets up a booth at a fair?

Gonna go google a lot

Call the municipal office (city, township, county) of the location where you will be selling to ask about licenses or local taxes. The state auditor should have information about state sales tax (if the church keeps a portion of sales you may be exempt)

Call your local library and ask for directions to SCORE--that's where our SCORE holds meetings--and they can totally get you set at SCORE--amazing organization and it is totally free.

What is SCORE?

It's volunteer business advisors-- partners with SBA I think? Anyway, their presentations are amazing, and they give you one on one mentor counseling to help get your small business started.

https://www.sba.gov/tools/local-assistance/score

Our state, IN, has a whole section on the web for new business people. They are trying to make it easier.