Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Setting A Decluttering Goal in Units of Time Using Flylady's Timer Method - July 2018

Setting A Decluttering Goal in Units of Time Using Flylady's Timer Method - July 2018

Hi All,

I'm a teacher who is on a reduced schedule for about two months mid-December through mid-February and mid-June through mid-August. I also have a REALLY cluttered home. In the past, I've had some success with setting myself a goal of doing a certain number of hours of decluttering during my periods of reduced work. I set one overall goal (last winter and summer, it was 40 hours), then chip away at it in smaller increments of time. Some days I aim for an hour; others for four hours (with breaks!). I basically use flylady's timer method described here, but with longer periods of time than 15 minutes:

http://www.flylady.net/d/getting-sta...ng-15-minutes/

It's also helped me a lot to keep track of progress towards my goal here, so here I am setting up a new goal: to complete another 40 hours of decluttering in my house by Sunday, August 19.

If anybody else wants to join in with a decluttering goal of their own for a certain number of hours, I would love company!
    Last edited by ejchase; 7-12-18 at 9:33am.

I did my first hour yesterday. It was mostly unpacking from my trip and going through mail but since delaying these tasks often leads to the accumulation of clutter, I'm counting them.

Interesting that small chunks of time work better for some people. I do better when I use big chunks of time. It doesn’t really matter as long as it gets done. We are home on Sunday from a month of traveling so will need to rest for awhile. Then I will see if I can find more stuff to get rid of. Being in many people’s homes this month made me realize how little I have compared to many others. Not a minimalistic but have done a good job of paring down. Good luck on decluttering!