Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Learning an oriental language - need help!

Learning an Asian language - need help!

For my upcoming trip to Japan later this fall, I thought that I would learn some key phrases. I am using Duolingo which is great in its approach. I had no idea how different Japanese would be. Has anyone any hints that might help as the sounds as well as the script are so new to me?

Is this language set up the same way as Romance languages? Perhaps Bae with the Nordic influence might have some insights.
    Help!
    Last edited by razz; 8-11-18 at 8:44pm.
    As Cicero said, “Gratitude is not only the greatest of virtues, but the parent of all the others.”

Oriental? In the US that is not PC at all...

I studied Arabic and found it very different from English or the Romance languages. I really don't have any idea how I got through a year of it, I was such a lazy student.

I imagine rote learning of a few key sentences will get you through, and your effort will probably be appreciated. Watch a lot of Japanese videos; that should help.

Quote Originally Posted by Ultralight View Post
    Oriental? In the US that is not PC at all...
    I was thinking the same - it is my understanding that "Asian" is appropriate.

I always thought that the word 'Orient' had a mystic magical image so was shocked to read UL's post. i did a little research. It sounds as though someone made a mountain out of a molehill and passed it into law. There may also be some emotion remaining from the war in Vietnam.
    I am wiser now and actually glad of that information when I am going with a group and would have innocently used the word possibly causing someone some discomfort. Asian it is from now on.

NOW back to the OP. One site I visited advised - "above all else place the verb at the end if every sentence". i just want some simple phrases including the sounding of the words.

My Research: