Page 1 of 19 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Another 40 Hours of Decluttering Using Flylady's Timer Method: Dec 2018 - Feb. 2019

Another 40 Hours of Decluttering Using Flylady's Timer Method: Dec 2018 - Feb. 2019

Hi All,

I'm a teacher who is on a reduced schedule for about four months a year, mid-December through mid-February and mid-June through mid-August. I also have a REALLY cluttered home. In the past, I've had some success with setting myself a goal of doing a certain number of hours of decluttering during my periods of reduced work. I set one overall goal (last winter and summer, it was 40 hours), then chip away at it in smaller increments of time. Some days I aim for an hour; others for four hours (with breaks!). I basically use flylady's timer method described here, but with longer periods of time than 15 minutes:

http://www.flylady.net/d/getting-sta...ng-15-minutes/

It's also helped me a lot to keep track of progress towards my goal here, so here I am setting up a new goal: to complete another 40 hours of decluttering in my house by Tuesday, February 19.

If anybody else wants to join in with a decluttering goal of their own for a certain number of hours, I would love company!

I will try! Do we post here with hours and/or what we get rid of?

Ok, i’ll Jump back in.

i got dh three months of trash service for Christmas. The goal is to clean out the studio barn by the end of March so that he can install a car lift. I plan to spend one morning a week on the project - probably Thursdays so that the trash can(s) can go straight up and save me from second guessing (although the first week will be mostly low hanging fruit - everything plastic that has been broken in the last two years and I have been nursing along because it can’t be recycled and is too big the throw in the grocery store can, plus plastic scrap/packaging from construction.)

Welcome, Tybee and Chicken Lady!