Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: RV living here we come!

RV living here we come!

Hey everyone! I am simplifying my life by selling a bunch of my junk, living in an RV, and working as a traveling speech-language pathologist. My husband and I are hoping to use this experience to 1) have some amazing adventures and 2) save enough money to buy a house before having kids. Excited to be part of this forum!
    Personal finance and budget travel blogger at Money and Mountains. My husband and I are living in an RV while he works remotely and I work as a traveling speech-language pathologist.

Please share your travels and the surprises that delight along the way. Have fun!
    As Cicero said, “Gratitude is not only the greatest of virtues, but the parent of all the others.”

Welcome, sounds like a great adventure.

I followed the link to the "amazing adventures", and I read your account of crushing the $40,000 student loan and the $22,000 car loans. Well done. I love your approach of living on one spouse's income and paying off debt with the other spouse's income (plus any side hustle income). Radical!

Also I totally agree with your 14 benefits of budgeting.

I might have missed it, but do you base your budgeting and spending on a "common pot" basis? (That is what we practice. We live in a community property state, so each spouse has a legal right to 50% of everything the other spouse makes, no matter how unequal the incomes (or participation) may be. With our common pot two spouses are spending from one account which receives 100% of the combined household income. However, the division of labor is such that the job of budgeting and bill-paying is handled by one spouse. In our case, there is a standing offer for the job to be reassigned to the other, at any time that either spouse wants the change. The job could be either put or taken by either spouse, but it has not been put or taken in all the years that we have been married.)