Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Counter-examples of why Rob is wrong about cops.

Counter-examples of why Rob is wrong about cops.

Rob has been bothering me with his incessant rants against cops -- as though the vast majority of them are horrible, racist, violent demons in blue.

So I created this thread where we can -- just to razz him -- post positive stories about cops.

"Instead of arresting a woman accused of shoplifting, these NYPD officers paid for her meal"

https://www.cnn.com/2019/07/05/us/ny...rnd/index.html

Yes, demonizing police is certainly not the answer. As someone with police in my family I am probably more sympathetic to them than most "liberals." I've known plenty of cops who are very decent guys. But I've also known some who were complete jerks. Especially when I was a small-town newspaper editor, I encountered plenty of cops who should not have been allowed within shouting distance of a firearm.

Better recruiting and training would undoubtedly help. My uncle, who is a retired police lieutenant, likes to point out that in Germany, a cop must be a college graduate, who in addition to the police academy receives a full year of close supervision from an experienced officer when he goes on the street.

I think a big part of the problem is plain fear. This country is so awash in every conceivable type of weapon that cops know any split second of hesitation could be their last. Sensible gun laws would help, although that genie is now so far out of the bottle that it might not make that much difference.

In the 30 years we’ve lived in our urban core, high crime, neighborhood we have had good relations with police officers.