Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Customer tried to avoid addt’l China duties - caught by Customs :D

Customer tried to avoid addt’l China duties - caught by Customs :D

You might remember I’m a customs broker. Last year when the additional China duties were introduced, a customer asked us if we would classify their shipments as something else so they wouldn’t have to pay the additional. I refused. Customer was pissed and pulled their business. They had another broker they had been working with somewhat. That other broker had no problem changing the classification so the customer wouldn’t have to pay the additional China duty. It was changed to something that had no relation to what they were importing. I had been clearing their shipments with the same classifications since 2012 when I took over the clearances from someone else in my office. Customer had been with my company since the early 90s.

Customer got away with it for about 6-8 months. Couple months ago they advised us they were being investigated by Customs. They had to get a lawyer. They’re probably going to be paying the lawyer a lot more than what they saved in duties.

The current leadership of the company is the second generation and greedy. The founder had to retire in the past couple of years due to health issues and was very nice to deal with. I’m only sorry founder’s hard work is being destroyed by second generation.

Customs requested paperwork from us last week for the few clearances we had done since the additional duties had been in effect. They are obviously comparing how I did it to how the other broker did it. We can show going back to 2012 (you only have to keep hard copies going back 5 years per CBP regs, but our system has info back 7 years) that we’ve been doing it the same way. We supplied the requested paperwork.