Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 22

Thread: Current license plates? important?

  1. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    3,366
    While governor Bill Weld passed a law that if you had no tickets your registration would automatically renew with no fee. I loved it but his successor Jane Not Too Swift reversed it.

    The state no longer sends reminders about expiring driver's licenses. Some insurance companies remind their clients but others do not. I believe in reminders.

  2. #12
    Senior Member JaneV2.0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    11,210
    Quote Originally Posted by KayLR View Post
    Move down here, Jane....no one gets pulled over for expired tags. It's my husband's hobby to note them as we sit at red lights. Many years expired, some of them. Not to mention the Oregon plates that "commute" to PDX every day from WA and back....and parked in apartment complexes all the time.

    We can't complain too loudly I guess, with the initiative that just passed to lower the tags to $30 again. We can only complain about the lack of services and increasing potholes.

    I don't blame you, Bae, for your complaints up there.
    My first violation was in Oregon, elevenish, on my way to work a graveyard shift. I'm always on top of my car tags now, but is that Vancouver or Portland getting loose with enforcement?

  3. #13
    Senior Member KayLR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    SW Washington State
    Posts
    1,950
    Quote Originally Posted by JaneV2.0 View Post
    My first violation was in Oregon, elevenish, on my way to work a graveyard shift. I'm always on top of my car tags now, but is that Vancouver or Portland getting loose with enforcement?
    The 'Couve
    My therapist told me the way to achieve true inner peace is to finish what I start. So far today, I have finished two bags of M&Ms and a chocolate cake. I feel better already!

  4. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    3,752
    Besides no insurance, it is also common for them to have not paid their taxes. No money for sales tax, typically on an old, buy here, pay here, OLD used car, I would see either driving with a paper tag, or in a few cases, the application for a paper tag, taped to the rear window (back when I worked in a garage).

    That doesn't even cover the vehicles that were not road worth (could see all four peoples feet, with what was left of the floor boards, down two inches below where it was supposed to be).

  5. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    1,824
    Quote Originally Posted by Teacher Terry View Post
    Itís not okay and here if your tags are expired you will be pulled over and given a ticket. The color changes yearly so easy to spot if yours are out of date. Plus the date is on them in big letters.
    Ditto!

  6. #16
    Senior Member Simplemind's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    1,130
    It is a huge deal to me. No tags often means no insurance and I've been hit twice now by people with no tags and no insurance. In our city it is very expensive to get pulled over for not tags. You get more than a ticket, you get your car towed. In order to get it out of impound you have to go to the PD for a release. In order to get the release you must have current tags, valid insurance and a valid DL. The release costs $100 on top of the tow fees which go up by the day as people so inclined try to scrape the former together.
    Oh the people who had meltdowns and screamed over those charges. Well sir, driving is not a right, it is a privilege and the law is clear. Many cars stayed in impound never to be retrieved. We wrote those releases out all day long......

  7. #17
    Senior Member razz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    5,963
    Licence (both driver and plate) and insurance coverage issues are very involved. I am amazed that Missouri would be that lackadaisical about the problem and cost.

    The City of Toronto requires that all vehicles parked on street must be properly licensed, including having a valid Ontario licence plate validation," said Anthony Fabrizi, Toronto manager of parking operations.

    "I can only get the licence plate sticker renewed if I have valid insurance," said Pete Karageorgos, director of Ontario consumer and industry relations for the Insurance Bureau of Canada. "But, if I forgot to affix the new sticker on the plate, my policy is still valid."

    Knowing when your licence is due for renewal is essential. If you are caught driving with an expired licence, you can face a fine of $200.00 to $1,000.00 under the Highway Traffic Act.

    While the fines associated with driving with an expired licence can be significant, the consequences could be even more severe in the event you or someone driving your vehicle is involved in an accident.

    A condition of all automobile insurance policies in Ontario is that a driver must be ďauthorized by lawĒ to operate a vehicle in order to be entitled to insurance coverage. In order to be ďauthorized by lawĒ to operate a vehicle, you must have a valid driverís licence that is not expired. In other words, if you operate your vehicle while you have an expired driverís licence or lend your vehicle to someone who has an expired driverís licence there is no insurance coverage on that vehicle. This means that you could be personally responsible for property damage and personal injuries in the event of a collision.

    In the event that you are injured while driving with an expired licence, it may impact your ability to sue an at fault driver, or to claim various accident benefits.

    In order to ensure you are protected, it is important to know when your licence expires and renew it well in advance of that date. Also, it is important to confirm that whoever drives your vehicle has a valid driverís licence. It is better to ensure that you are protected, rather than getting a nasty surprise later on.



    Driving without insurance first offense : Fines start at $5000 and could be as high as $25,000.
    Driving without insurance second offense : Fines start at $10,000 and could reach as high as $50,000.
    Fines Are Not The Only Penalty For Driving Without Insurance
    In addition to fines, there are other penalties for driving with no insurance. They include:

    Suspension : You could face a driverís license suspension for up to one year.
    Impound : You could have your vehicle impounded for up to three months.
    Additional fees : The Provincial Offense Act tacks on an additional 25% surcharge to your fine.
    Can I Lose My License For Driving Without Insurance?
    A common question drivers ask related to driving without insurance is, ďCan you get your license suspended for driving without insurance?Ē

    As part of your first offense for driving without insurance, your driverís license will be suspended for a minimum of 30 days. You could lose your driverís license for driving without insurance for up to one year.
    Gandhi: Happiness is when what you think, what you say and what you do are in harmony .

  8. #18
    Senior Member KayLR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    SW Washington State
    Posts
    1,950
    Yep, razz....still, LE still has to have the motivation to pull people over. Here in my town, they'd be doing nothing else all day long in addition to checking out-of-state plates parked overnight in apartment complexes.
    My therapist told me the way to achieve true inner peace is to finish what I start. So far today, I have finished two bags of M&Ms and a chocolate cake. I feel better already!

  9. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    1,824
    Quote Originally Posted by Yppej View Post
    The state no longer sends reminders about expiring driver's licenses. Some insurance companies remind their clients but others do not. I believe in reminders.
    I'm sorry. We're adults and should be responsible for our own privileges. Doesn't your DL expire on a birthday? Mine does-I check the year each year the 1st day of my birthday month.

  10. #20
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    3,366
    People are busy and forget things. My parents went on a trip and discovered my dad's license was expired when they went to pick up the rental car. My mom had to do the thousands of miles of driving herself. My dad is the most decent, honest person who will never drive 1 mile per hour above the speed limit. He would never intentionally drive on expied license, but is the absent minded professor type and he did. I believe in being compassionate and forgiving with people. To err is human, to forgive divine.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •