Page 1 of 14 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Another 40 Hours of Decluttering Using Flylady's Timer Method: Jan. 29-Feb. 29, 2020

Another 40 Hours of Decluttering Using Flylady's Timer Method: Jan. 29-Feb. 29, 2020

Hi All,

I'm a teacher who is on a reduced schedule for about four months a year, mid-December through mid-February and mid-June through mid-August. I also have a REALLY cluttered home. In the past, I've had some success with setting myself a goal of doing a certain number of hours of decluttering during my periods of reduced work. I set one overall goal (usually 40 hours), then chip away at it in smaller increments of time. Some days I aim for an hour; others for four hours (with breaks!). I basically use flylady's timer method described here, but with longer periods of time than 15 minutes:

http://www.flylady.net/d/getting-sta...ng-15-minutes/

Last summer, I stumbled a bit and didn't finish the 40 hours - but *did* finally finish them a couple of days ago.

In any case, since I started these batches of 40 hours of decluttering in winter of 2017, I've made a lot of progress. My home isn't perfect, but it is MUCH less cluttered than it was three years ago. And recording my progress here has really helped.

So today, I started another 40 hours which I hope to complete by Saturday, February 29. I made a big push today and completed four hours.

If anybody else wants to join in with a decluttering goal of their own for a certain number of hours, that would be great!

In any case, thanks for "listening" and for the encouragement so many of you have given me over the years.

Thanks so much for starting this 30 day thread. I am going to try to do one hour a day.

Quote Originally Posted by Tybee View Post
    Thanks so much for starting this 30 day thread. I am going to try to do one hour a day.
    Fantastic!