Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: are you invaluable at work?

are you invaluable at work?

I have been thinking about this a lot as I look for another position. I have always been the "glue" person at my current work so things would be rocky for a while if/when I leave - but probably not for long. Additionally, I have a lot of historical knowledge having worked for the organization since its inception. Not sure that matters anymore though. I really like the sense of contributing to an effort and where I am now is feeling less and less fulfilling. Assuming you work for someone else, would they miss your presence if you moved on or are you easily replaceable?

not at all

Quote Originally Posted by pinkytoe View Post
    I have been thinking about this a lot as I look for another position. I have always been the "glue" person at my current work so things would be rocky for a while if/when I leave - but probably not for long. Additionally, I have a lot of historical knowledge having worked for the organization since its inception. Not sure that matters anymore though. I really like the sense of contributing to an effort and where I am now is feeling less and less fulfilling. Assuming you work for someone else, would they miss your presence if you moved on or are you easily replaceable?
    I think it depends...if you work for a small business there is a very good likelihood that you could be considered "invaluable". If you work for a major corporation then at the local level you could also be a very important asset within your team but in all likelihood above the local or area level you are reduced to a number, or more correctly a SS number.

One of the more disgusting things I did as a senior manager in a major corporation was dealing with the tech downturn in 2000/2001. The decision making was an exercise in poor management. Favorites, connections, performance appraisals were all used as WMD's when it came time to cut numbers.