Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 30 years of Practicing Minimalism

30 years of Practicing Minimalism

Hard to believe but I have been a mostly minimalist lover for over 30 years. I do feel, at this point, it is something I am actively practicing, just like working out or learning a new skill.I have been everything from extreme (less that 74 items, living out of a backpack) to more comfortable (having a family, ebbing and flowing to our living/life situations) and everything in between. Today, I would say I am a happy minimalist. I have what I need, love what I have and can easily take care of what I do own and my environment is pleasant and zen. I have never had the desire to compete in minimalism, like you sometimes see on blogs or in videos, because I find no value in that but I do like to challenge myself to weird little things, like making 5 ingredient dishes, wearing just 4 items for the week to work, and seeing if anyone notices. I am also an expert of knowing my needs and editing as I go. Seems a little quirky, but I love to do these things.

Where are my minimalist/ish peeps at?

Yppej
    I am not as minimalist as you. I have been gradually vacationing closer to home so I spend less time in transit, more time relaxing, and less money, but I did not anticipate the current situation with no vacation. My finances, home, and work are straightforward. A lot of the complexity in my life comes from the give and take living with my mentally ill son, but I would not trade him for the world. My hobbies are low cost. For instance, from this time last year through the New Hampshire primary I went to hear 13 presidential candidates at their in person events. I was scheduled to hear a 14th, Howie Hawkins, in Connecticut when he cancelled due to covid. I am ready for the pandemic to be over so my life can get a little bit more complex.

Quote Originally Posted by Yppej View Post