Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Plants that Repel Mosquitos?

Plants that Repel Mosquitos?

Hi All,

I'm a beginner gardener, and I live in Los Angeles. My nine-year-old daughter and I have a couple of raised beds we've just planted a few things in - cucumber, tomatoes, lettuce, squash. We're excited to do more in our yard this summer, but we both have a LOT of mosquito bites from the little time we've already spent out there. I've heard there are are some plants that repel mosquitoes (lavendar, marigolds, etc.), but I've also heard that's a myth. Any thoughts?

And if plants won't help us get protected from the mosquitoes, is there anything else we should try? Citronella candles?

We are now spraying ourselves with repellant, but I hate to use that stuff.

Thanks for your help,
    Elizabeth

Quote Originally Posted by ejchase View Post
    Hi All,

I'm a beginner gardener, and I live in Los Angeles. My nine-year-old daughter and I have a couple of raised beds we've just planted a few things in - cucumber, tomatoes, lettuce, squash. We're excited to do more in our yard this summer, but we both have a LOT of mosquito bites from the little time we've already spent out there. I've heard there are are some plants that repel mosquitoes (lavendar, marigolds, etc.), but I've also heard that's a myth. Any thoughts?

And if plants won't help us get protected from the mosquitoes, is there anything else we should try? Citronella candles?

We are now spraying ourselves with repellant, but I hate to use that stuff.

Thanks for your help,
    Elizabeth
    You can grow citronella plants. Also plants that contain pyrethrum that are in the chrysanthemum family, including daisies.

Yppej
    You could get a bug zapper and hang it over the garden.

I'm a big fan of the small portable Thermacell devices like this one: https://www.amazon.com/Thermacell-Ca...90729923&psc=1

Quote Originally Posted by rosarugosa View Post