Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: A little OCD

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

A little OCD

I am a bit OCD, I know exactly how many small binder clips fit into its space in my desk drawer. Everything in my office has it's place - I take pride in telling someone exactly where to go to get a file, supplies, etc. I enjoy that part of my mild OCD. I won't even begin to try and explain the process it takes for me to leave my office.

There are two tasks that I have great difficulty doing. One is painting. I am not good at painting. The need for perfection with the job paralyzes me. I would rather live with the need to paint then attempt the job and have my failures stare at me.

The second task is washing windows. No matter how much I try - there always seem to be some streaks. We have the old style storm windows - that has one pane that has to come out. One window has like 8 panes to wash. Today I gave myself permission to accept the fact that there may be some streaks, but the end result will be so much better than where I started. The pressure was off. There were many trips back and forth inside and outside to check it out, but once it was done, I sealed it up and accepted the jobs as is. phew.

Not sure why I put myself though the anxiety of such stupid tasks. *sigh*, nevertheless I was able to cross that one off my list.

Yppej
    I have the same problem with windows getting completely clean.

Does your OCD mainly impact you? I ask because I have two people in my life whose OCD spills out onto those around them. One is my de facto supervisor. My manager had her write my annual review and she marked me down for neatness. The other day she spent two hours removing staples and restapling documents that looked to me like they were stapled fine. This is the level of detail she focuses on.