Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hello from a former shopping addict

Hello from a former shopping addict

Hi there! Been lurking on this sub for a couple of days and wanted to introduce myself. I am Jocie and I live in the Midwest with my DH and our three dogs. We are 33/34 respectively. I work in marketing and he is in electrical engineering.

A little background: We spent our twenties accumulating material things we didn't need/couldn't afford and it took years to pay off ~$40,000 of credit card debt. The urge (for me) to shop is still there.. like a dormant volcano, but the lessons we learned along the way have led to an almost debt free life (still have a mortgage) and a positive outlook.

As for why I'm here, I'm trying to adopt a slower, more frugal style of living, which I hope will improve my life fulfillment. Goal #2 is to pay off our mortgage in 8.5 years.

Thanks for having me.

Welcome. In various ways, most of us have been there. We are now in our late 60s and getting rid of most of the things we thought we had to have earlier in life. Paying off the mortgage is incredibly freeing emotionally.

Welcome, Jocie! We are a very diverse group in many ways, but we are all here because of our desire for simplicity in our lives, in whatever way we define the simple life. You may or may not know that this group was originally founded over 20 years ago on the principles of the book Your Money or Your Life by Joe Dominguez and Vicki Robin. The book was updated by Vicki in the 2000s--if you haven't read it yet, it might help you navigate those purchasing decisions.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0052MD8VO...ng=UTF8&btkr=1
    "Do any human beings ever realize life while they live it--every, every minute?" Emily Webb, Our Town
    www.silententry.wordpress.com

The book is really eye opening. Many people spend their lives accumulating junk just to get rid of it in their later years. You can include me in that group). Welcome!!