Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Anyone done voice-over work?

Anyone done voice-over work?

I’m beginning a search for a lucrative work-from-home gig. Someone suggested that I check into voice-over work.
    The idea is appealing to me. I love to read, and as an elementary teacher I read to my students every day. Many of them reported, even years later, that listening to me read was the best part of their elementary school years. It seems that there are millions of audio books on the market, and, I assume, more every day. Someone has to read and record those, might as well be me! Anybody have any thoughts to add?

Do you have an agent?

Just asked my husband, who did it in the 90's. You need a demo and an agent. He said he spent 10k on the demo (ouch!!!!!) and got maybe two jobs. He had the best agent in Chicago, too. Hmm. Did not realize this was so disastrous. Was before I knew him.

He said the tech has come so far it would not cost that much now.

My DH used to hire voice-over people, and yes, jobs all went through agents. Anything in performing arts (which this is considered) is highly competitive. It sounds like you have a really good voice for your friend to suggest it, and that's key of course, but it would be a big time, energy, and possibly financial commitment in terms of breaking in. That's that hard part. And establishing a track record, because media producers tend to re-use the same people they trust.
    "Do any human beings ever realize life while they live it--every, every minute?" Emily Webb, Our Town
    www.silententry.wordpress.com

Quote Originally Posted by catherine View Post