Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Will start work soon

Will start work soon

Yes I landed a job. It's not just some poor paying job to tide me over or anything either. It won't make me rich but it's real work on which I can support myself and save and have some play money (I have been supporting myself all along, but I've just been spending down money).

It is a bit bittersweet to be working again (I'm probably going to have to quit some things I started in my unemployment unfortunately - like I started studying massage) but it is also a GREAT RELIEF!!!! The unemployment rate is really high here (over 12%). Being unemployed took me to some pretty dark places mentally. Dark places from which really noone could help me. I felt like whether I ever worked again was ultimately in the hands of fate and that none of my actions could assure that I would work again. And this despite having a few years savings with which to retrain (ha, but I wasn't having an easy time getting college courses!) and look for work. In other words despite being in a really good position relatively speaking.

I actually found work quite easily, after 2 months or so of searching (and I have major survivors guilt toward all those who are still unemployed!). I was unemployed longer than 2 months but I didn't look for work right away.
    Last edited by ApatheticNoMore; 8-31-11 at 4:06am.
    Trees don't grow on money

Congratulations on finding work that will meet your needs. Assuage your guilt by various means - food banks, donating items to charitable organizations that can use them , you know what is best needed in your community.

We are entering a huge shift in thinking, I believe, where the power of the individual is being pushed into supporting the community in constructive ways rather than the self-centred materialistic state of thought that has prevailed for the last decades.
    As Cicero said, “Gratitude is not only the greatest of virtues, but the parent of all the others.”