Thread: Knook Hook - knitting with a crochet hook

Knook Hook - knitting with a crochet hook

I have been crocheting since I was 12 years old. I know how to do basic knitting, but it was always too slow for me compared to crocheting, but I still enjoy the look and feel of knit stitches. Well, about a month or so ago I was in Target and came across these things called Knook Hooks. Looked interesting so... I splurged and picked them up. They are basically wooden crochet hooks with a hole at the non-hook end which a string is passed through. Using this hook and utilizing the string to hold stitches, it is really possible to create actual knit and purl stitches! Takes some practise and I haven't gotten my tension or technique down quite yet, but I really am enjoying it!

What I got at Target can be seen at www.leisurearts.com.

After further research on the web, I've discovered that these hooks were created in Japan and are called Super Miracle Needles and/or Amazing Needles, etc. Found another set on ebay, so I just had to get them.

Anyway, I thought I would share and see if anyone else has discovered these.
    To give pleasure to a single heart by a single act is better than a thousand heads bowing in prayer." Mahatma Gandhi
    Be nice whenever possible. It's always possible. HH Dalai Lama
    In a world where you can be anything - be kind. Unknown

Interesting. Never heard of that before. I do both and am hoping to improve my knowledge of both. May look into that further, though it's easiest to stay with what I know.

Can you use crochet and knit stitches in the same project? I could see that being useful.

Quote Originally Posted by Kestra View Post
    Can you use crochet and knit stitches in the same project? I could see that being useful.
    Yes, apparently you can!
    To give pleasure to a single heart by a single act is better than a thousand heads bowing in prayer." Mahatma Gandhi
    Be nice whenever possible. It's always possible. HH Dalai Lama