Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: A lament

A lament

My DH & I have been housing our friend, S, on the days his soon to be ex-wife is in the family home with their two children. She is opposed to him being a half time father, and is insisting on minimal contact with the kids. He wants to share parenting half & half, and told her of that today.

Her response is to allege abuse. I was a DV social worker for nearly two decades, and was part of the legion of women & men who fought very hard for victim's rights, to make sure women were believed. To have this allegation raised as a weapon is incredibly infuriating.

Of course, I was not in the room with them each time they were in conflict, so I cannot assert that the allegation is without merit. In the 8 years I have known them, I've seen NOTHING, not a damn inkling even remotely suggesting abuse. They have both been disrespectful of each other, but not abuse.

She is threatening to get a restraining order tomorrow morning to throw him out of their home. Because of decades of hard work that I and scores of others did, she will likely be believed, and granted a temporary RO. She will have to defend it in court two weeks later. He will be lining up an attorney tomorrow. Of course guess who pays the price? A 2 year old & a 6 year old.

What a freaking disaster. Each and every escalation she pulls reminds me of my stepkids mom. What is it with these crazy people?

K. Thanks for listening. FWIW, I'm doing a good job keeping my boundaries clear... And I am very, very sad.
    Last edited by redfox; 2-12-12 at 10:55pm.

{{{{ redfox }}}} You have a big heart, and I can feel it aching. I'm sad for the kids too, no matter whether the allegations are true or not. People going through contentious divorces can be so very, very volatile. Sigh.

it's about power, isn't it?