Thread: Would this help?

Would this help?

I am a software developer who has been following the 9 Steps from "Your money or Your Life" for several years. In that time I have not found any software truly satisfactory for helping with the steps. I've also been interested in starting my own software business for a long time. So I thought, why not try to create my own software.

It would be a big help if you could answer the questions below. Your answers will help me decide if this is worth trying.

The software would be online like Quicken Online, but it would be focused only on:
    • Tracking every penny you earn and spend - very much like other personal finance software
    • Computing your Real Hourly Wage - would allow marking expenses as work expenses and entering work time
    • Producing a Monthly Tabulation - automatically created and displayed in both dollars and hours of life energy
    • Answering the three Questions - this would replace the budget component of traditional personal finance software
    • Creating a Wall Chart - graphed in the program and printable, would try to project the crossover point for you
    • Being Simple, Easy and Focused - it wouldn't have the 100 features you never use in the other personal finance software. It would be focused only on the 9 Steps not on other approaches to managing ones money

Questions?
    1. Would you buy software like that? Why or why not?
    2. How much would you be willing to pay? Per month? Per Year?
    3. Is there another software tool you would want too/instead? Another feature it needs?

Again, your responses will help determine if I do this. So if you want to see this software created please reply even if you only have time for a short answer.

Thanks so much,
    Jeff

Jeff, welcome to the forum!

Quote Originally Posted by Jeff
    Would you buy software like that? Why or why not?